The Brookhaven Town Board has decided to adopt a measure that permits Brookhaven Town to assess fines of up to $6,000, including a term of incarceration of up to six months, for those who rent their homes for fewer than 4 weeks at a time. This recently adopted measure also makes it illegal to rent out swimming pools separately from a house. Some Fire Island communities are exempt from this new measure because of the prevalence of rental housing. This new legislation continues a steady trend on Long Island of imposing more restrictions on short-term house rentals. Short term rental companies and landlords face numerous challenges on Long Island. On the North fork, for example, towns and villages are stepping up enforcement against owners who allow guests to stay fewer than 14 days. Some officials are employing the use of artificial intelligence to police online listings or collect rental taxes. It is meant to crack down on the growing trend of people who rent out their homes through services such as Airbnb, which has sometimes resulted in disruptive or destructive behavior by renters.
Homeowners and landlords across Long Island are facing a growing problem: squatters. Although squatters have historically created legal obstacles for landlords and homeowners, more and more people have taken advantage of “squatters’ rights,” resulting in homebuyers purchasing homes or homeowners who discover unknown individuals occupying their property without the permission of the homeowner. Squatters can potentially create legal complications that result in substantial costs for those who need to remove them from their property. Continue reading “LI Homeowners and Landlords Struggle With Squatters”
Approximately 44,000 drivers in New York had their licenses suspended as of December 1, as a result of failing to get an eye test for their licenses. These suspensions are the consequence of pandemic-era measures that allowed people to renew their licenses without getting the normally mandatory eye exam. This means that tens of thousands of New Yorkers may be driving around with suspended licenses, potentially without realizing it.
Q: I just got into a car accident. What should I do?
A: First make sure everyone is ok. If someone is injured, call 911. You should take pictures of the crash scene and the damage to your car. You must share your personal contact and insurance information with any other drivers involved in the accident.
Q: What is the best way to take pictures of the accident?
A: Use your phone to take pictures of the roadway, intersection, and the damage to the automobiles.
Q: Why do I need the insurance information of the other drivers?
A: The law requires that you exchange personal and insurance information with the other motorist(s) when property damage occurs. You can be charged with a violation or crime if you leave the scene without providing this information. Obtaining this information is also necessary to file an insurance claim. It is important to let your insurance company know about the accident right away.
Q: Who else should I get contact information from?
A: In addition to getting contact information from the other drivers, you should make sure to speak to anyone who witnessed the accident. They can provide valuable testimony that may help you with any litigation that may occur.
Q: Should I call the police?
A: If you have been injured or if you estimate the damage to your car to be in excess of $1,000.00, call the police.
Q: When do I need to report an accident?
If you’re in a car accident in New York, and any person incurred more than $1,000 in property damage as a result of the crash, all drivers must file a “Report of Motor Vehicle Accident” form with the DMV no more than 10 days after the accident. Failure to do so can result in suspension of your driver’s license.
If anyone was injured or killed in the crash, you must immediately notify the police, and an accident report must be filed with the DMV. It’s a crime to leave the scene of a car accident that causes personal injury or death without taking legally-required steps like this.
Q: Do I need to see a doctor after an accident?
A: You should see a doctor after an accident within 48 hours if you have any pain, suffer any injury, or the accident was more than a fender bender (moderate to high impact). A doctor can perform a medical evaluation to ensure you receive any necessary medical care, and provide potentially crucial medical evidence of any injuries you suffered.
Q: What can I be compensated for after an accident?
A: If you have been involved in an accident that was caused by someone else’s negligence you could be entitled to the cost of any repairs to your vehicle, plus the costs of any medical bills or rehabilitation related to your accident. You can also receive compensation for lost time off work, loss of the ability to work, as well as any other pain and suffering related to your injuries.
If you have been in an accident, call the law offices of McGuire, Pelaez & Bennett, PC at 631-348-1702.
If you have been charged with a traffic infraction of crime we will fight hard on your behalf.
If you have been injured, we can make sure you file the proper forms right away to make sure your medical bills are paid, your automobile can be repaired, and you can get compensation for any injuries you incurred, including lost wages, loss of enjoyment, pain and suffering and in some cases, punitive damages.
If you are considering getting divorced from your spouse and have experienced domestic abuse from them, a restraining order (also known as an order of protection) may be able to help you. Not only can it help to protect you from your spouse, but it can have a number of other important benefits in your divorce case. Here are five reasons you should consider getting a restraining order during your divorce:
It may seem like it is obvious when you are in police custody, but in truth, that question can become legally complicated. In fact, there are several reasons that the police like to blur the line between being in custody and being free, due to the legal implications of placing someone in custody. But how do you know if you are in police custody, and why does that matter?
One critical part of every bankruptcy is something known as the “automatic stay.” This legal order, while fairly obscure, is critical to people declaring bankruptcy, since it gives them the breathing room they need to sort out their finances. But what exactly is the automatic stay, and how can it help people suffering from severe financial distress?
The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) has identified four major types of accidents that are responsible for more workplace injuries than any other. These “Fatal Four” accidents are especially common in the construction industry, where there are more accidents than in any other industry. But what are these Fatal Four, and what can you do to avoid them?
If you are in the middle of a contentious divorce where child custody is an issue, you are likely very concerned about whether you will be able to obtain custody. While this should be a theoretical impartial matter, the fact is that people can do a lot of things to make their custody proceedings more likely to come out in their favor. Here are five important tips for handling your child custody proceedings to give you the best chance possible at a favorable outcome: